Calisson d’Aix – Provencal delicacies

06-07-2017
Logo France Bon appétit

An icon of Provencal gastronomic culture, ‘Calissons’ have delighted locals from the town of Aix and its surrounding areas since their tender youth.

Provence is a region where appreciating good food is second nature, particularly when it goes hand in hand with a sweet tooth. So you may be familiar with the famed thirteen Provencal desserts, and among them, the highly-prized Calissons d’Aix. Often imitated, but never equalled, Calissons are king when it comes to Provencal sweet delicacies.

But what is the fuss all about? Lovingly made from citrus fruit almond paste consisting of melon, orange and lemon, topped with a layer of pristine white icing sugar, Calissons have been tantalising taste buds for several hundreds of years

 

 “What is really special about calissons is the crunchy bite of the royal icing upper and lower layer, which comes in stark contrast to the wonderfully soft interior,” describes Laure Pierrisnard, President of the Union of Calisson producers in Aix, the UCFA*.

She also happens to be the CEO of Roy René, the region’s most famous calissonier, or calisson producer, and for whom this jarring juxtaposition of brittle crunch and sweet softness is the calling card of an authentic Calisson d’Aix.

Calisson d'aix en provence, une confiserie de france

Ancestral savoir-faire handed down through the generations

 

The art of making Calissons has retained its artisan charm and can be broken down into two distinct stages: first preparing the soft fruit paste and secondly, the decoration. Firstly, almonds are blanched and then crushed, together with the candied melon, before adding fruit syrup, in an all-important 40% almond paste and 60% fruit syrup ratio.  According to a former Calisson d’Aix ‘Master’ or expert, the Calisson owes its original character and sweet softness to the melons and oranges used to make the paste, which are soaked in fruit syrup; while the outer layer consists of gossamer-thin sugar paper coated in royal icing. “Here we are at the heart of regional Provencal specialities. Calissons come with their own appellation which brings depth and meaning to the ingredients. Quality and traceability are guaranteed, with a clear set of guidelines to regulate the manufacturing process to reassure consumers”, explains Laure Pierrisnard.

 

Calisson d'aix en provence, une confiserie de france

@RoyRené

PGI status in sight

 

To guarantee product quality and respect traditional production methods, the Producers Union is keen to establish a PGI for their product. “We have a traditional recipe with the same procedures and techniques handed down over many years. The technical aspect is important at certain stages in the process, but at the end of the day, human intervention and skilled expertise are vital. Our product is not the result of a commonplace manufacturing process, and this is why we wish to protect it with a PGI”, reiterates Laure Pierrisnard.

And to this end, the Union’s ‘calisonniers’ have decided to promote and showcase their specialised savoir-faire by building a dedicated working museum. Tourists can now visit the museum and take full advantage of the interactive visitor experience and see the fabrication process in full swing at René Roy’s production site.

Celebrating Calissons d’Aix with local festivities

 

Calisson aficionados simply cannot miss the special events in Aix devoted to showcasing these Provencal delicacies. Held annually the first weekend in September, the tradition dates back to 1630 and celebrates the vow made by a legal advisor to distribute calissons to thank the patron saint of Aix for putting an end to the most devastating plague the town has ever known. And to this day, calissons are blessed in a local church in Aix, and then handed out.

The event is quite a ceremony, and for more than 20 years has become a celebration of almonds and calissons d’Aix. It’s a great opportunity to showcase the full extent of our savoir-faire” explains the Union’s President.

All day long, local residents and tourists can sample calissons at Cours Mirabeau in the centre of Aix.  It is the perfect showcase for the region’s sweet delicacies.

Calisson d'aix en provence, une confiserie de france

Provence sweet delicacies in the international spotlight

 

This traditional celebration, together with a new museum to perpetuate the product’s rich history, illustrate a real determination to develop awareness for Calissons d’Aix and to promote the delicacy to tourists visiting the region.  In addition, Roy René see it as their mission to target international markets, a challenge showing early signs of success.  Having already shown a strong presence at Bastille Day in New-York, an annual event on 14th July that showcases the great and good of French gastronomy, Aix sweet delicacies are setting their sights on Asia in 2018 at the Gourmet Hong Kong festival, where Provence will be honoured as the guest region.

Calisson d’Aix : la gourmandise provençale

06-07-2017
Logo France Bon appétit

Produit emblématique de la gastronomie provençale, le calisson berce depuis leur plus jeune âge les habitants d’Aix-En-Provence et ses alentours.

 

La Provence est une région où l’on sait être gourmand, et particulièrement quand arrive l’heure du dessert. A cet effet, on parle des treize desserts de Provence. Parmi eux, il y a le fameux calisson d’Aix-en-Provence. Toujours imité, mais jamais égalé, il est le roi des confiseries provençales. Composé d’un cœur aux fruits confits (melon, orange, citron) avec de l’amande et d’une glace royale au-dessus, il réveille les papilles depuis des centaines d’années.

 

« Ce qui est intéressant dans la découverte du calisson, c’est le côté craquant de la glace royale et l’intérieur très souple du calisson. », décrit Laure Pierrisnard, la présidente de l’Union des Fabricants du Calisson d’Aix (UFCA).

 

Celle qui est aussi directrice générale du Roy René, le plus connu des calissoniers d’Aix-en-Provence, insiste sur cette dualité intérieur moelleux/extérieur craquant, qui permet de reconnaître le bon calisson.

 

Calisson d'aix en provence, une confiserie de france

Un savoir-faire ancestral qui se transmet

 

La fabrication du calisson a gardé son caractère artisanal et s’effectue en deux étapes : la préparation de la pâte et le dressage des Calissons. Les amandes sont mondées, puis broyées avec des melons confis et additionnées de sirop de fruits dans une proportion de 40% d’amandes pour 60% de fruits et de sirop. Selon un ancien maître aixois du Calisson : le Calisson doit sa première saveur à la douce amande de Provence réveillée d’un peu d’amandes amères. Son originalité, son moelleux, sont donnés par les melons et les oranges confits nourris de sirop qui entrent dans sa pâte ; Son habit est une feuille d’hostie nappée de glace royale. « Nous sommes sur des produits issus du terroir provençal. Le tout est encadré par une appellation qui donne l’origine des matières premières. Donc, de la qualité avec une vraie traçabilité, et un vrai cahier des charges qui peut rassurer les consommateurs. », commente Laure Pierrisnard.

 

Calisson d'aix en provence, une confiserie de france

@RoyRené

 

L’IGP en ligne de mire

 

Pour asseoir la qualité de ses produits et le respect des procédures de fabrication du Calisson, l’Union veut mettre en place une IGP. « On a une recette ancestrale avec les mêmes gestes, une même technique perpétuée depuis des années. La technique aide sur certaines étapes, mais il y a toujours ce savoir-faire très important. Ce n’est pas un produit de conception basique et c’est pour cette raison que nous souhaitons obtenir l’IGP », explique Laure Pierrisnard.

Dans cette optique, les calissoniers de l’Union ont eu l’idée de valoriser leur secteur d’activité en construisant une fabrique-musée. Il est désormais possible, pour les touristes de passage, de visiter ce musée qui offre un parcours de visite interactif où il est possible de voir les ateliers de fabrication du Roy René.

La bénédiction des calissons d’Aix : une fête dans la ville

 

L’événement à ne pas louper pour tous les amoureux du bonbon provençal, c’est la bénédiction des calissons. Elle se déroule chaque premier week-end de septembre. La tradition remonte à 1630, et célèbre le vœu d’un assesseur de la ville d’Aix de distribuer des Calissons en remerciement à la Sainte patronne de la ville d’Aix pour avoir mis fin à la plus grande peste que connu la ville. Pour l’occasion des calissons sont bénis à la sortie d’une église aixoise, puis distribués. 

« Il y a tout un cérémonial autour de ça, et depuis plus de 20 ans c’est devenu la fête de l’amande et des calissons d’Aix. C’est le moment pour nous de montrer tout notre savoir-faire », explique la Présidente de l’Union.

Toute la journée, les habitants de la région et les touristes de passage peuvent déguster des Calissons sur le cours Mirabeau. Une merveilleuse vitrine pour les gourmandises.

Calisson d'aix en provence, une confiserie de france

 

Un rayonnement international pour la confiserie aixoise.

 

Entre cette fête traditionnelle et la transmission de l’histoire du produit par le musée, c’est une réelle volonté que de développer la notoriété du calisson d’Aix et de les faire connaître auprès des touristes présents sur la région. La maison du Roy René vise aussi les marchés étrangers, un pari en parti réussi. Présente en effet à plusieurs reprises au Bastille Day in New-York, qui met la gastronomie française à l’honneur le 14 juillet, la confiserie aixoise ira à la rencontre de l’Asie en 2018 à l’occasion du Gourmet Hong Kong festival, qui mettra cette année la Provence à l’honneur.