Vinexpo: a resolutely international remit for the 2017 vintage!

19-06-2017
Logo France Bon appétit

Vinexpo, the world’s largest wine and spirit fair opened its doors in Bordeaux on Sunday and will run through to Wednesday, 21st June.

Now in its 19th year, 2017 is looking particularly appetising.

 

logo, 2017, bordeaux, vinexpo

Logo vinexpo 2017

 

Key decision makers including producers, negociants, buyers and suppliers will exchange views on a common passion, wine. Vinexpo is an opportunity to get under the skin of the wine market, to fully understand current trends and the subjects influencing the wine sector today, such as the global warming issues. A sister wine fair held in Hong Kong also takes place every two years.

Facts and Figures

 

45,000 visitors are expected at Vinexpo Bordeaux this year, 37% of these from outside France. In fact, x nationalities are likely to convene over the course of the event, testament indeed to wine’s continued appeal across the world. Visitors from China and the USA should make up the greatest proportion of visitors. In total, 2,300 exhibitors from 40 countries are set to attend, including 22 from China.

Wine and spirits brands from Croatia, Chile, Austria, Argentina, Germany, Italy, the UK, Ireland and Switzerland, not forgetting Georgia, the Lebanon and Russia, will rub shoulders with a large number of home-grown exhibitors. In 2017, Spain is Vinexpo’s country of honour, with the major Spanish appellations represented on regional pavilions and the official ICEX* stand.

 

Place de la bourse, bordeaux, vinexpo

Place de la bourse, Bordeaux

Top 10 exhibiting countries:

  • 1 – France
  • 2 – Italy
  • 3 – Spain
  • 4 – Chile
  • 5 – United Kingdom
  • 6 – United States
  • 7 – Austria
  • 8 – China
  • 9 – South Africa
  • 10 – Germany

In addition, the show welcomes 1,000 members of the press from across 50 countries together with 12 Michelin-starred chefs, while a rich programme of 56 events are scheduled, including 36 tastings.

 

A premier for organic wines

A new initiative this year, Vinexpo will host a space entirely devoted to organic and biodynamic wines. The new space, awarded the snappy title of WOW (World of organic Wines), will welcome 150 producers and is set to appeal to professionals looking for wines made by artisan winegrowers. The initiative will also provide a platform to meet key buyers from 150 countries, importers and also wine specialist retailers and sommeliers. A seminar led by Nicolas Joly, leading proponent of biodynamic viticulture, and a round table event organised by La Revue du Vin de France will focus on the influence of organic practices on the taste of wine. An organic restaurant will offer 100% organic fare.

 

Riesling Day

Also new for 2017, Riesling Day, held Tuesday, June 20th, promises to be an event not to be missed. The initiative will feature a packed-programme of tasting events and a Masterclass attended by five masters of wine, who will share their insight on a number of Riesling wines from France, Germany, the US, Australia and Austria.  Cultivated in Alsace as a noble grape variety, Riesling is responsible for the production of exceptional dry white wines and late harvest wines, which excel in export markets. Riesling wines will also be available to sample at The Blend, the official Vinexpo party held the same evening, and set to round off a spectacular day’s tasting.

 

*ICEX is the authorised government agency for the promotion of Spanish exports and Spanish companies’ international growth.

 

🇫🇷 Le Riesling Day aura lieu mardi 20 juin à #VinexpoBDX ! Une journée dédiée à ce cépage si particulier, avec une Masterclass où 5 Masters of Wine vont confronter leur opinion sur le Riesling en provenance de France, d’Allemagne, des États-Unis, d’Australie et d’Autriche, de nombreuses dégustations et des conférences. 🇬🇧 The Riesling Day will take place on Monday 20 June at #VinexpoBDX! A day dedicated to this grape variety, with a Masterclass where 5 Masters of Wine will champion their opinion on Riesling from France, US, Australie and Austria, several tastings and conferences. . . . . #wine #wines #winelover #winelovers #winetime #winecountry #wineglass #winetasting #winestagram #winery #tasting #austria #autriche #networking #business

Une publication partagée par Vinexpo (@vinexpo) le

Vinexpo : un millésime 2017 qui mise sur l’international

19-06-2017
Logo France Bon appétit

Vinexpo, le plus grand salon des vins et spiritueux du monde ouvre dimanche à Bordeaux et ce jusqu’au 21 juin. Cette 19e édition s’annonce déjà gouleyante.

 

logo, 2017, bordeaux, vinexpo

Logo vinexpo 2017

 

Producteurs, négociants, acheteurs et fournisseurs vont pouvoir échanger sur leur passion commune : le vin. C’est l’occasion de prendre le pouls du marché, de parler des tendances et des sujets qui préoccupent la filière comme le réchauffement climatique. On rappelle que l’événement Vinexpo est organisé une année sur deux à Hong-Kong.

 

Les chiffres

2300 exposants, 40 pays représentés, 45 000 visiteurs en provenance de 150 pays

 

45 000 visiteurs attendus lors de cette édition bordelaise, dont 37% provenant de l’étranger. En effet, de nombreuses nationalités sont attendues sur le salon, preuve de l’engouement autour du vin actuellement dans le monde. Les visiteurs chinois et Américains devraient être les plus nombreux. Il y aura 2300 exposants en tout venant de 40 pays, 22 exposants Chinois.

 

Place de la bourse, bordeaux, vinexpo

Place de la bourse, Bordeaux

 

Les marques de vins et spiritueux de Croatie, Chili, Autriche, Argentine, Allemagne, Italie, Angleterre, Irlande, Suisse mais aussi de Géorgie, Liban et Russie, côtoieront un grand nombre d’exposants arborant le drapeau tricolore français. L’Espagne sera le Pays à l’honneur avec la présence des principales dénominations d’origine, sur des pavillons régionaux ou sur les stands de l’ICEX.

 

Top 10 Pays exposants :

 

  • 1 – France
  • 2 – Italie
  • 3 – Espagne
  • 4 – Chili
  • 5 – Royaume-Uni
  • 6 – Etats-Unis
  • 7 – Autriche
  • 8 – Chine
  • 9 – Afrique du Sud
  • 10 – Allemagne

 

Le salon accueille par ailleurs 1000 journalistes de 50 pays, 12 chefs étoilés, et 56 événements sont prévus au programme, dont 36 dégustations.

Une première pour les vins biologiques

 

Vinexpo proposera pour la première fois un espace entièrement dédié aux vins biologiques et biodynamiques. Cette nouvelle entité baptisée WOW! (World of Organic Wines!) accueillera 150 producteurs et séduira les professionnels à la recherche de vins élaborés par des artisans vignerons. Ce sera également l’occasion de rencontrer les acheteurs clés de 150 pays, des importateurs, mais aussi des cavistes et sommeliers. Une conférence animée par Nicolas Joly et une table ronde organisée par la Revue Viticole Française aborderont la question de l’impact du bio sur le goût du vin. Un restaurant dédié composera des plats 100% bio.

 

Le Riesling Day

 

Autre rendez-vous à ne manquer cette année : le «Riesling Day », mardi 20 juin. Une journée consacrée à ce cépage avec de nombreuses dégustations exceptionnelles et une masterclass passionnante en présence de Cinq Masters of Wine qui vont confronter leur opinion sur le Riesling en provenance de France, d’Allemagne, des Etats-Unis, d’Australie et d’Autriche. Cultivé en tant que cépage noble en Alsace, le Riesling permet l’élaboration de remarquables vins blancs secs ou liquoreux issus de vendanges tardives, qui font le bonheur des ventes à l’export.

 

On retrouvera également des vins de Riesling à la soirée The Blend, pour le partager en toute convivialité.

 

🇫🇷 Le Riesling Day aura lieu mardi 20 juin à #VinexpoBDX ! Une journée dédiée à ce cépage si particulier, avec une Masterclass où 5 Masters of Wine vont confronter leur opinion sur le Riesling en provenance de France, d’Allemagne, des États-Unis, d’Australie et d’Autriche, de nombreuses dégustations et des conférences. 🇬🇧 The Riesling Day will take place on Monday 20 June at #VinexpoBDX! A day dedicated to this grape variety, with a Masterclass where 5 Masters of Wine will champion their opinion on Riesling from France, US, Australie and Austria, several tastings and conferences. . . . . #wine #wines #winelover #winelovers #winetime #winecountry #wineglass #winetasting #winestagram #winery #tasting #austria #autriche #networking #business

Une publication partagée par Vinexpo (@vinexpo) le